Skip to content

What do you want to know?

I promised a “more info about me” post. I’ve never been really good about talking about myself seriously, thus this somewhat abnormal post. Here are some of the facts, in no particular order:

I’m 29 years old

Grew up in University Heights section of the Bronx (that’s in New York 🙂 It’s called University Heights due to New York University’s presence in the community during the early part of the 20th century. At that time they maintained a campus in the neighborhood. The campus still stands as part of Bronx Community College.

Actually born in East Orange, NJ (supposedly because it was cheaper, despite the fact that both parents are nurses. Go figure.)

They’re from Trinidad & Tobago, making my brother and I first generation Americans.

He’s two years younger than I am. And yes, he is single.

Attended St. Nicholas of Tolentine Elementary School and Mt. St. Michael Academy for those “formative” years in the big city

Also attended art classes at Cooper Union and St. John’s University

I am a graduate of the Lwanga Scholars program. This program was supported by the Archdiocese of New York and provided leadership training for African American and Latin American students throughout the city. A lot of the things I learned there I use every day.

Diehard Yankees fan (Reggie Jackson and Don Mattingly rule!)

I’m a fan of the game of baseball as well. While in college, unfortunately for just one year, I got to play the one game that I enjoy more than anything else in the world. I loved every second of it.

Attended the Savannah College of Art and Design in Savannah, GA. Earned a B.F.A. in architectural history with a minor in architecture. Ended up living there for 11 years. Some of the weirdest yet enjoyable so far in this short story.

Favorite color is blue. Or is it green?

I’ve become as avid a runner as my knees allow me to be. Good idea for a post.

Currently employed by Main Street Birmingham as their Main Street Coordinator. This means that I get to coordinate activities in those nine target districts located throughout Birmingham, AL that you’ll see listed if you click on the link in the previous sentence 🙂

Some of those other jobs have included freelance reporter, general manager for a historic inn along the Savannah waterfront, b&b desk clerk and administrative assistant for downtown revitalization office in Savannah.

I own two cats. Or should I say that two cats, Boomer and Ed, grant me the privilege of taking care of most of their needs.

They also grant my girlfriend, Betsy, that same privilege… when they feel like it.

Every once in a while I still attempt to play the guitar. Would help if I got the classical repaired. The twelve-string is testing the strength in my left hand.

I am a board member for Ruffner Mountain Nature Center. Check out the site.

I also serve as the Community Development VP for the Birmingham Jaycees.

Oh yeah, I also serve on the steering committee for Catalyst Birmingham. I have this problem saying NO to things sometimes.

One of the best things I don’t do that often anymore is to just get in the car and drive. Hoping to do some more now that I’ve supposedly settled into life in Birmingham. You never know what you’re going to find out there.

I love to write. That’s one of the reasons I decided to finally do a blog.

I don’t have a lot of regrets in life. I’ve had some crazy events happen so far, but there are few things that I really regret not having done.

If anyone out there knows of some interesting facts that I’ve forgotten, let me know. Or maybe you may want to let me know some more things about you. Looking forward to the doors opening. I’ll catch you on the other side.

Published inWhere to find Dre